First DUI Offense
A misdemeanor charge is usually filed for first-time offenders who are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) as long as no one suffered injuries as a result of the offense in Oklahoma. Up to $1000 fine and jail time of 10 days to a year are the penalties that accompany a misdemeanor DUI. This sentence can be deferred resulting in no conviction or the jail time may be suspended. A DUI charge is always serious and can affect not only your reputation, but also your work if you drive a company vehicle. In most cases, a first-time DUI offender will not have to spend any time in jail.
Subsequent DUI Offense
A subsequent DUI charge within the first 10 years of a prior conviction will usually be charged as a felony. Felony DUIs have penalties of up to $7500 and a minimum of one year up to twenty years in prison depending on prior convictions. Sentencing can be deferred, and in some instances, the prison time can be suspended. A DUI Defense Lawyer in OKC knows the laws and the best way to develop your case.
Accidents While Driving Under the Influence
If you are involved in an accident while driving under the influence that results in severe bodily injury, then you can be charged with a felony offense regardless if this is your first offense or not. Manslaughter charges can be filed if your DUI results in a death. Manslaughter can be penalized up to life in prison.
DUI Under 21 Penalties
If you are charged with a DUI under the age of twenty-one and have a breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 to .07, the penalties will result in a fine and community service for your first offense. All DUI convictions will result in a suspension of your license. If your BAC is .08 or above, you will most likely be charged with a regular DUI.
Contact Oklahoma City DUI Lawyer, Robert Robles, if you are facing a DUI conviction. Robert knows Oklahoma law and will aggressively fight for your rights to protect your future.
First DUI Offense