Many folks wonder what the point is of having a conceal carry permit if you can’t use your gun to back down an aggressor. Well, the new law signed by Governor Fallin allows the use of deadly force, the pointing of a firearm to interrupt a robbery in progress or any other forcible felony without fear of engaging in a criminal act.
See this recent article on the new Point Don’t Shoot Law:
Dubbed the “Point, Don’t Shoot” bill, SB 40 protects an individual who points a firearm in self-defense. Under current state law, individuals can be charged with a felony for simply pointing a firearm, even in self-defense, except in instances of deadly force.
The new law allows individuals to draw a weapon to defuse a volatile situation and/or to prevent death, great bodily injury or the commission of a forcible felony.
Governor Fallin will likely sign the other two bills, SB 35 and SB 397, into law later this month. Attorney Robles said all three of the bills had the support of Oklahoma 2nd Amendment Association.
SB 35 would allow active duty members of the military to carry a handgun using their military ID card as their license, except as otherwise prohibited by law. Individuals still need to be 21 years of age or older, and be either active military or a member of the Reserve or National Guard. A valid military identification card would be considered a valid handgun license issued pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.
Individuals would need to have this military ID, as well as a valid Oklahoma driver’s license or other Oklahoma State photo identification, when in possession of an authorized pistol. This ID would need to be provided on the demand of a law enforcement officer.
SB 35 has passed both the State House and Senate and was sent to Governor Fallin’s desk on May 11.
The final bill, SB 397, would remove language from the current law that makes it a felony, with a $10,000 fine, to carry a handgun onto any bus. Supporters of the bill maintain that the current law discriminates against those who choose to use public transportation to travel and prohibits them from being able to carry a firearm for self-defense.
The current wording states, “No person, other than an authorized law enforcement officer, shall board a bus with a dangerous or deadly weapon concealed upon or about his person. Upon the discovery of any such item or material, the company may obtain possession and retain custody of such item or material until it is transferred to the custody of law enforcement officers… Any person convicted of violating this subsection shall be guilty of a felony, and shall, upon conviction, be imprisoned for not more than ten (10) years, or fined not more than Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000), or both.”
SB397 passed both the State House and Senate, was sent to Governor Fallin’s desk on May 15. — by Peter Suciu, contributor, Texas & U.S. Law Shield blog